Fuge question

KJones90s

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I’m pretty new to the game but was wondering, I have a sump with a small fuge attached. Probably about 10-12 gallons on it, the sand bed is probably an inch and a half thick.
Is there anything I could put in the sump to turn over the sandbed safely without disturbing the copepods too much? Or is that counterintuitive?
I’m worried whatever I put in the fuge will eat all the copepods.

JustAnotherNanoTank

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, I’ve been taught, that in a refugium it’s about having the slower flow and a somewhat deep sand bed to create an anoxic area(low oxygen) and a place for your “bugs to dwell”. I haven’t heard of anyone putting anything in the refugium sand. I’ve only heard of everyone leaving it alone. Remember, that’s only what I’ve seen and heard so far. I’m sure someone has done that.

OP
OP
KJones90s

KJones90s

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, I’ve been taught, that in a refugium it’s about having the slower flow and a somewhat deep sand bed to create an anoxic area(low oxygen) and a place for your “bugs to dwell”. I haven’t heard of anyone putting anything in the refugium sand. I’ve only heard of everyone leaving it alone. Remember, that’s only what I’ve seen and heard so far. I’m sure someone has done that.

Ok, good to know, I thought copepods lives in the live rock.
Didn’t know they burrow in sand too.
Thank you [emoji1431]

NPRW

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think what he means is the anoxic bacteria which is a big part of your bio filter.