Going away and leaving your tank

Chrisfish

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok I know this is probably a dumb question but does anyone worry about going on vacation or going away for whatever reason and having to leave their tank to the care of someone else?? I'm going on vacation and as much as I want to I'm a nervous wreck. As some of you know from reading some of my past post I am new to the saltwater aspect of this hobby and as all of you are I'm sure love every creature in my tank. Recently I lost one of my clown fish due to some fighting between him and my Blenny, found him on the floor the next morning. As I stated in that thread I do have a top and to long of a story as to how he was able to jump out. Anyway my husband will be home to take care of them but it's just not the same. I have everything set up for him and instructions with pictures for him to follow but ...... Any thoughts, suggestions would really be helpful. :):(

argue.oa

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just went away for 2 day and was able to monitor my tank with and old iPod I use it as a stream camera with presence from the App Store

TheEngineer

Formerly icecool2
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think we all go through that. Just make it clear to only do what you asked and have them ask you if they think something else should be done.

koifishy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I worry about that with any of my pets during vacation. As far as saltwater tanks go, can everything be made automatic so that there's less worry?

Waboss

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
I just control as much as I can from my Apex and set up a camera on the tank and one for the sump. Then I can see pretty much everything. I can't do much when 1000's of miles away, but it's piece of mind that keeps me sane.

TheEngineer

Formerly icecool2
View Badges