Having some trouble with corals...

taylear

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey R2R,

I am new to the reefing hobby and have had my 40 gallon breeder reef tank up and running for around 2 months now. I began adding corals when my tank first cycled added the majority of my frags ~ 2 weeks ago. I have mainly soft corals (GSP, xenia, zoanthids, leathers, and mushrooms), but also just recently got a frogspawn and some plate coral from a friend. The corals that I have been having trouble with are my xenia, leathers (sinularia and lobophytum), as well as one of my GSP mats, although I wouldnt say any of my corals have looked consistently happy since I've had them other than my frogspawn which I got < 1 week ago.

1. The Xenia:
I got a silver xenia frag when my tank first cycled and it looked great at first, but over time it lost its color and turned white, and began shrinking. I tried placing it in areas with different flow, but I eventually deemed it dead because it didnt open up for over a month and just looked bad. Unfortunately I don't have a good picture of it when it looked bad. I got another xenia frag just over 2 weeks ago and it is starting to go through the same thing my previous xenia frag did... where its losing its color and slowly shrinking. I attached a picture of how it looks today (apologize for the low quality), and unfortunately didnt get a good pic of how it looked after I first added it.

2. The Leathers: