Welcome

200.gif

Pistol Peet

Reefing , family ,God, country.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all! I’m new here and to tanks in general. We are moving into a new place and FINALLY have the room for one. We are looking at a place with a loft, and ideally would want the tank in the loft space. Does anyone know if 100 gallons is too heavy? Some friends of mine have 100-150 gallons in their 2nd or 3rd story apartments but I have a sneaky feeling the loft won’t be as sturdy? Anyway, looking forward to hearing from you all, seeing your tanks, and finally having one of my own to share with you!
I am a licensed contractor and would recommend that you call 1 in and have them take a good look at were it is planned to go to make sure it is framed properly and in a manner of witch it will support for sure its very possible that it may need some new bracing installed if not a beam.... tanks are expensive so are the messes they can make in a situation like that. Hope this helps and good luck with your project welcome to the forum. Also if it does go up there u want it to span over the top of as many floor joist or floor truses as possible dont run the tank in the same direction as your joists run you want it going in the opposite direction of your joists so it can rest on hopefully 3 minimum to 4...

Philly Reefer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R.
I think before you are set on 100g, the better question is whats the size of the tank?
Regular 100g is 72x18x19
Which I think is too long, not wide enough and not deep enough.

My dream(hopefully my next) tank is 120g 48x24x24. Shorter than 100g but wider and deeper water depth.

Will this be your own place or renting? Make sure the apartment owner allowed those big tanks. Some don't.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0