Help me learn Sumps!

MantisShrimpMan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone!

I could use some clarification on Sumps. There’s a lot of info online, and I’ve already been steered towards resources like the BRS weeks of reefing, but I have not yet found any resources to definitively answer the gaps in my knowledge, only supporting info on related topics. I’m hoping I can call upon this lovely forum to help me piece together what I’m still unsure about!

I’m new to the reefing hobby. That said, I’m a scuba instructor and also an engineering student- I have enough background knowledge in marine biology and general STEM that I am a fast learner.

My first tank is a 20 gallon AIO JBJ cubey I bought used. I’m realizing it’s not ideal for my goals. It’s got a hood, so despite initially believing I could add the bubble magus mini Q skimmer, there won’t be enough room above the water level for the cup. And unless I spend a lot to have someone upgrade the LEDs built into the hood, the lighting won’t put out enough park to support anything photosynthetic, namely corals.

It is becoming increasingly obvious that the better solution is for me to get a tank that is not an AIO solution, so as to be able to incorporate a proper sump. This will both add to the overall system volume, thus making the tank less susceptible to swings and crashes, while also giving me an opportunity to learn more as a beginner to this hobby- if I need to set up a sump, it means I also need to learn about skimmers, refugiums, etc. and gives me a firsthand opportunity to learn about forms of filtration that my current AIO can’t support.