Help

goody

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
589
Reaction score
30
Location
Carlsbad, CA
Purchased this used GHL unit.with no instructions. Need help setting up and identifying which unit it is.

15929512017752107026184095816488.jpg 1592951226599750670206941080665.jpg 15929512467364965468800539012056.jpg
 
OP
G

goody

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
589
Reaction score
30
Location
Carlsbad, CA
Thank you. So after reading the manual, I can choose the number of dosings per day and mL/min. but I cannot set the time the pumps turn on. Is this correct? If so, then how long does the pump stay on for?

Currently, I have a 90g with 25 small sps frags and 8 euphyllia mini colonies and I'm manually dosing 8mL/DAY of alk. How would I program something that low using this doser?

This is what I did: pump 1 on 2 times per day at 4mL/min.
 

[email protected]

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
719
Reaction score
842
You can use Auto mode and choose the doses per day and amount per dose. Based on that info, the doser will then evenly spread the dosages through a 24hr window.

At 8ml, you can just dose it all at once or break it up into 2 dosages (2x 4ml ea)
 
OP
G

goody

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
589
Reaction score
30
Location
Carlsbad, CA
Great,.but I noticed when I calibrated the first pump, I was getting 130mL/min instead of 60mL/min. How would I adjust for this discrepancy? Are there faster motors/pumps the original owner could have put in?
 

[email protected]

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 27, 2016
Messages
719
Reaction score
842
130ml is not possible. At most you will see 60ml/min.

When you calibrate, you are asked to enter the flow rate. That is where you enter the amount of ml that was dispensed in the one minute of calibration. This info will tell the pump how long to run so it gives you the requested dose amounts.
 
OP
G

goody

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
589
Reaction score
30
Location
Carlsbad, CA
When I calibrated, I did select 004mL/min for flow rate, and manually held pump on for one minute and it dosed 130mL in that minute. I do see that changing flow rate does not change the speed of the pump, but why am I getting such a large amount in the one minute during calibration. Going out of town for 2 weeks and hoping to get this dialed in prior to my departure.
 
OP
G

goody

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
589
Reaction score
30
Location
Carlsbad, CA
And here's what the pump motors look like and power supply. Again, I bought this used and it continues to dose 130ml/min during calibration test. Wondering if pump motors have been upgraded or if power supply is not the correct one.

15938154825121400071533331482443.jpg 15938155042504225311870467999338.jpg 15938155524694191550103355236574.jpg
 
OP
G

goody

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 2, 2010
Messages
589
Reaction score
30
Location
Carlsbad, CA
That most certainly could be your problem. The motors are 12vdc, and the power adapter is 24vdc. I would start with the correct power supply.
Contacted ghl on their website and confirmed wrong power supply. I now have it hooked up to a 12v power supply and I still cannot get dosing amount I want. Now when I hold down override button for 1 minute I'm getting 45ml. Can't get 60ml/min. When I program it to only dose 5ml it still runs the same 45ml. I've even tried manual dosing 5ml 10 different times throughout the day and still get 45ml. Wonder if the previous owner messed this up by using the wrong power supply. Any suggestions?
 

Member No 1

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 17, 2017
Messages
335
Reaction score
159
Location
Rehoboth, MA
He very well could have. Electronics are very sensitive, and by not supplying the correct voltage, he could have damaged a circuit. This is more so true with an over voltage condition then under voltage.
There could be something else wrong with the unit that's unrelated to the voltage issue, hopefully it's an easy fix.
I would still inquire with GHL support for help and guidance.
But, and I'm sure you've come to the realization, that this could be why the seller got rid of it.
Good luck!
 

Is your current reef tank the BEST reef aquarium you've ever had?

  • Yes

    Votes: 214 69.0%
  • No

    Votes: 69 22.3%
  • It's a tie

    Votes: 11 3.5%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 16 5.2%

Online statistics

Members online
2,332
Guests online
4,887
Total visitors
7,219
Omega Sea, LLC
Top