Hippo Clam

Huskymaniac

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are these clams less responsive to touching and shading? My LFS has a bunch of real nice looking ones except they aren't responding like closing when shading etc. I have no experience with these and am curious how to tell if one is healthy or not?

OP
OP
Huskymaniac

Huskymaniac

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Some clams can show less response to shadows. It's the last thing I would be concerned about when looking for a healthy clam to be honest. Our squamosa had almost no response to shadows for years.

I guess I have no idea what a non healthy hippo looks like.

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My established clams won't move much even when fish eat pellets off of their mantles. All of my new ones are very sensitive for a while. Light sensitivity can be a good thing, but not a necessary thing.

I honestly have no idea about a Hippo - never really owned one. Sorry. Are they cultured or wild? People used to find the wild ones very easy back when they were available all of the time.

OP
OP
Huskymaniac

Huskymaniac

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My established clams won't move much even when fish eat pellets off of their mantles. All of my new ones are very sensitive for a while. Light sensitivity can be a good thing, but not a necessary thing.

They are cultured.

I honestly have no idea about a Hippo - never really owned one. Sorry. Are they cultured or wild? People used to find the wild ones very easy back when they were available all of the time.

Fiesty

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0