How does PayPal work?

Justin1997

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to PayPal and I'm debating buy some equipment from someone on the forum, not sure how PayPal works to keep my money secure until I receive what I buy, can anyone explain?

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
paypal works like a debit card. It's connected to your bank account. You pay with paypal and they dont get your banking info. Its a secured site and if you have problems you can contact paypal to have it resolved. I dont know if that helps you or not.

den75

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No, the person receives the money first. If there is an issue and you don't receive the item you can dispute it through paypal.

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yea a little bit thanks, but what if you buy something from someone do they put hold on it until I receive my goods?

I dont think so. I'm trying to remember the last time i used it. The funds came out of my account right away. You can always make sure they give you tracking info on your package and save every receipt and dialogue you have with them just in case. If, say you are using ebay then you can report that person to ebay for scamming you. I've never had to do that so I'm not sure how they resolve the situation, but I'm betting either paypal or ebay will help as best they can.

cameronh

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yea a little bit thanks, but what if you buy something from someone do they put hold on it until I receive my goods?
No its gets sent to them qyickly. If you have a problem and did not receive your item, contact seller, and if to no prevail, contact paypal.

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No, the person receives the money first. If there is an issue and you don't receive the item you can dispute it through paypal.