How should I raise my salinity back up

BrettE

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

Mistakes were made, and I dumped a whole bunch of RO/DO into my sump, and onto my floor. We got everything cleaned up, but as a result of all this, our salinity is low. It dropped from 1.025 to 1.021 in just a few minutes. Eek.

I've read a lot of posts that suggest putting salt water in the ATO to bring up salinity. By my estimation, that will take almost 3 weeks. That seems like a long time.

I have about a 160 gallon total water volume. To take 160 gallons from 1.021 to 1.025 @ 78F, I think I need to add about 8.8 lb of salt to the system. If I'm using 1.025 top off water, I will need add about 27 gallons to add 8.8 lb of salt. My ATO is 15 gallons, and lasts about 10 days, so we're looking at about 20 days.

In the tank I have 2 clows, a fire fish, a cleaner shrimp, 4 tiny soft/lps corals that were like $20, and some snails (ceriths, turbo, and astrea).

I'm a newb, so I'm not sure what I should do.

What would you do?

Thanks!
Brett

DrkNMighty

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

Mistakes were made, and I dumped a whole bunch of RO/DO into my sump, and onto my floor. We got everything cleaned up, but as a result of all this, our salinity is low. It dropped from 1.025 to 1.021 in just a few minutes. Eek.

I've read a lot of posts that suggest putting salt water in the ATO to bring up salinity. By my estimation, that will take almost 3 weeks. That seems like a long time.

I have about a 160 gallon total water volume. To take 160 gallons from 1.021 to 1.025 @ 78F, I think I need to add about 8.8 lb of salt to the system. If I'm using 1.025 top off water, I will need add about 27 gallons to add 8.8 lb of salt. My ATO is 15 gallons, and lasts about 10 days, so we're looking at about 20 days.

In the tank I have 2 clows, a fire fish, a cleaner shrimp, 4 tiny soft/lps corals that were like $20, and some snails (ceriths, turbo, and astrea).