I have a question about velvet

BAMBIBAMBS

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello friends I need an advice. I’m new in all of this reefing stuff so:
On Friday, I added a new coral to the tank. On Sunday, I noticed the first signs of velvet on clown fish and I didn’t lnow what it was. by Tuesday morning clown was already dead. Subsequently, I found velvet on other fish, and it turned into a disaster. Is it possible that I brought this with the coral? Could a parasite reproduce within a day and a half to become visible on the fish?
Also, there were elevated levels of PO4 and NO3. Is it more likely that the disease broke out due to poor water conditions? Or could it be because of the coral? Or combination?
How can velvet come in my tank?

Thank you all

Sharkbait19

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When was the last fish introduced and were they quarantined? Do you have any pics/videos of the fish? How were they acting? Typically with velvet you don’t ever see the white dusting, but behavioral signs like fast breathing (the most common symptom) and swimming into the flow.
Coral can certainly bring it in while it’s in its benthic stage, though you’re more likely to see it come in from a fish.
Often you can see infection set in when a fish is stressed, as the immune system becomes compromised, but velvet doesn’t really care. It’s deadly and will infect even healthy fish.

OP
OP
B

BAMBIBAMBS

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The last fish was added last Tuesday, 14.11, and was not in quarantine.

After the death of the clown fish, I noticed rapid breathing in some other fish, and they also tried to scratch against rocks and wanted the shrimp to clean them. Then I noticed white flakes like sugar on some of them and 2 days after they are dead.

The fish I brought in on Tuesday looks absolutely healthy and chilling while some other fish are already dead.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover