Internal vs. External Overflow

esb

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to this hobby and jumping in with both feet and am having a 48” x 18” x 24” / 90 gal acrylic aquarium made. I’ve started conversations with Clear Fabrications and Midwest Custom Aquariums, but would consider others if folks have strong recommendations. I had originally thought I’d have an external overflow (Bean Animal) using something like the Eshopps Prodigy, but I’m having second thoughts primarily because an internal overflow will have a cleaner look.

The tank will be freestanding and all four sides will be visible. I plan to have all of the plumbing on one end and had considered a removable cover of some sort to hide the pipes and overflow box. But perhaps putting the overflow (and return pipes) in the aquarium with a built-in / blacked out weir would be better. I’d lose a few inches in the aquarium, but everything would be hidden and look a lot cleaner. One concern is how hard it will be to work inside the 24” deep space between the weir and tank wall. How large a gap would I need - 4”? Also, I’d like to center the weir and have enough space on either side for a powerhead. Should I use 1” pipes for the overflow and return pipes? I’d been planning on 3 overflow pipes for the Bean Animal configuration and 2 return pipes with the returns at the top front and rear. What kind of spacing do I need for all of the pipes (especially for the secondary pipe with two elbows)? Can I make that all fit reasonably to reach in to do the plumbing work and still have space on both sides for a powerhead (given the tank is 18” wide)? What else should I be considering?

The aquarium and stand have the longest lead times so I want to get that locked down sooner rather than later, but since they are being custom made, I want to take advantage of that as much as possible and want to limit the number of regrettable decisions.

RocketEngineer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0