Introductions: FW to SW

TL1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Introducing myself to the community...

A little about me: 30's, married no kids, engineer, tech nerd, aquarium enthusiast. I've been keeping tropical fish for ~7 years now with the last 3 or 4 being dedicated to planted aquariums. Growing up my dad had a 90g and then 180g softie tank, which got me started in the hobby.

For my current planted display tank, and latest build, I bought a Reefer 350 and decked it out with tech, knowing that in time I would want to start a reef tank. Happy to talk about it if anyone is interested.

...so here I am, starting my research and making the jump. Planning a build thread later this year.

Also, I already posted a yet unanswered question about using my three XR15FW's for lighting a reef tank. Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks,

TL

Billldg

My Gem Tang Is Watching You
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!!! Radions are great lights, but the spectrum and par for FW light is different, so I am not sure if they will work. If possible, I would upgrade to a reef specific light.

Last edited:

Bryn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R. Sounds like you have a lot of this already organized with a plan forward. Looking forward to the build thread. As you came from planted tank FW, be interesting to see if you incorporate any Macro Algae in the design.

giphy.gif

Jimbhoy13

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Introducing myself to the community...

A little about me: 30's, married no kids, engineer, tech nerd, aquarium enthusiast. I've been keeping tropical fish for ~7 years now with the last 3 or 4 being dedicated to planted aquariums. Growing up my dad had a 90g and then 180g softie tank, which got me started in the hobby.