Is T5 still one of the best choices in reef lighting.

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Polo reef has a MH tank side by side with a led tank. MH grew the corals out faster and color is better, they talked about it extensively. You can see the evidence. And that is ok…it’s okay if an older lighting technology is better at times at growing corals. I am a scientist for living and that is about as controlled of a study as it gets in the hobby. It’s equivalent to an observational study with elements of a controlled environment. You can check out the YouTube video, came out a few weeks ago. Doesn’t mean leds don’t work well. No one is saying that. So there is no reason to come in Here to a thread asking about T5 and getting anxious that you need data to make you feel good about your leds or my reefbreeders.

I’ve grown corals under all lighting options. T5 grew the corals the fastest, I like MH the best, and leds make the corals pop the most. All my experiences and opinions. As much as this is a scientific forum it’s also a forum full of experiences and opinions.

If I feed three kids differently in that one gets flavored water, one gets sparkling water, and one gets water, and all three grow at different rates, does that mean that the water is the cause of the diffferences in growth?

Z Burn's Reefing

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If I feed three kids differently in that one gets flavored water, one gets sparkling water, and one gets water, and all three grow at different rates, does that mean that the water is the cause of the diffferences in growth?
No, you can conclude an association, but not causation. Then, in the discussion section of your research, you can express theory and framing that may suggest the association to be causation, but you typically must highlight the limitations.