"Just say NO" to meds

lion king

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I hope I don't come off like a know it all, posting all this info on caring for predatory fish. My usual disclaimer; I am no internet expert, have imaginary letters behind my name, or claim what I am saying is 100%. These are just my observations over 3 decades and dozens if not hundreds of examples.

Using medication is a complicated, risky, and a confusing proposition regardless of the species. I witness so much advice freely given about the usage of medications, you really have to dig into the source to find the ridiculous truth. The success rate of using any med in so minimal, you will wonder if it is even worth it. Prophylactic treatment is mostly a false security blanket. The new(very old) wonder drug CP; the only success I've ever seen has been in prophylactic treatment, because there was likely no issue before the fact.

Treating the predatory fish I keep, is even more of a risk. For some reasons lions, scorps, and eels specifically don't handle meds well. I suspect the same in anglers but their lifespan is so short it's hard to positively place blame. We'll use lions, scorps,and eels as the example, but I suspect there are many more. I have cut open many lions out of curiosity and found internal organs in many states of damage. I have seen hemorrhages and states of liquification. This follows after death shortly after or during the use of meds. Some lions and eels have survived as long as a year or so and I found hemorrhages similar to that of the ones that died during or shortly after treatment.