Labored breathing

Seahorse Rex

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I got 3 erectus seahorses last Saturday and put them in my 45 gallon tank. They’ve been doing very well and I fed them live brine for the first time 4 hours ago. Now the most social one seems to be breathing very hard and has turned very dark brown (he’s normally brownish orange). Water parameters are good (72 degrees) , tank cycled for 9 weeks, has clean up crew of turbo, trochus and nessarius snails. Both other seahorses seem to be doing well. The sickly one ate very well this morning and like crazy with brine. I have a HOB filter, a slimmer rated for 200 gal, and a 240 gph Powerhead. I’m very new to seahorses, but have maintaned a mixed reef for awhile with great success. I did a 10% water change yesterday. What can I do?

Last edited:

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Unfortunately, I know nothing about seahorses.

Anyone in #reefsquad able to help or know of someone who can?

4FordFamily

Tang, Angel, and Wrasse Nerd!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I got 3 erectus seahorses last Saturday and put them in my 45 gallon tank. They’ve been doing very well and I fed them live brine for the first time 4 hours ago. Now the most social one seems to be breathing very hard and has turned very dark brown (he’s normally brownish orange). Water parameters are good (72 degrees) , tank cycled for 9 weeks, has clean up crew of turbo, trochus and nessarius snails. Both other seahorses seem to be doing well. The sickly one ate very well this morning and like crazy with brine. I have a HOB filter, a slimmer rated for 200 gal, and a 240 gph Powerhead. I’m very new to seahorses, but have maintaned a mixed reef for awhile with great success. I did a 10% water change yesterday. What can I do?
9 weeks doesn’t necessarily mean you’re cycled, especially for seahorses. What are your nitrate, nitrite, and ammonia results?