LEAKING Red Sea Reefer - Multiple Failed Seams

Discussion in 'Red Sea' started by Joseph Gagne, Nov 15, 2017.

1. Joseph Gagne

Joseph Gagne Member

Also posted in Gen Discussion Section...

I'm relatively new to the reefing world. Love the Reef in Wilmington, MA is my local reef shop. I recently purchased a Reefer 650 Peninsula with all the extras from them and had it installed by their service division. The system went in nicely and has been running great for the past couple months.

[​IMG]

I chose the Red Sea brand after months of research and talking with the staff at LTR. This is their preferred brand and they've installed many of them over the past couple years. From our conversations, Red Sea is a brand that they trust and are confident providing to their customers.

[​IMG][​IMG]

Unfortunately, every so often there is a problem..and that is fine. That is fine as long as the problem is taken care of properly and in a timely manner.

This past weekend, the display tank itself began leaking from one of the vertical seams. I woke up to our new hardwood floors covered in water and buckling at the seams. Water made its way through the floor and down the basement walls. Upon further inspection, it was clear that MULTIPLE seams were failing. Images below show separation of the glass panels and sealant peeling away.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The tank drained about 1/4 of the way down and then stopped.

The install company is assisting us by breaking the system down and relocating the livestock for the time being. We will reinstall the new system after the floors in the house have been replaced.

Now the question is...how will Red Sea make this right?

Yes, we've begun the warranty process and contacted our representative from Red Sea.

We've been reassured that Red Sea will ship us a replacement tank soon. But, as you know, there is much more to this than just a replacement tank.