Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

About two months ago I switched to a new light set up:
- from 2x Hydra 52 HD + 1x Hydra 32 HD
- to 1x Hydra 52 HD + 1x hydra 32HD + ATI Straton Pro 204.

I have struggled and still struggle with finding a good lighting spread. One acro died due to under-lighting I think, while another seemed close to bleaching.

On top of that have had some chemistry swings (Alk, calc, nitrates and phosphates)

Needless to say some of my acro’s are not looking great. They have lost colour and are moving towards a brownish red.

As I am still relatively new to acro’s I find it difficult to say whether it is just a matter of swings or whether its also a matter of over/underlighting.

Please find below some example photos. Apologies for the quality of the photo’s. The ATI straton flickers when I try to take photos which makes taking photos difficult.

IMG_9183.jpeg IMG_9177.jpeg IMG_9188.png IMG_9187.png IMG_9184.png IMG_9185.png

twentyleagues

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you own or can you rent a par meter?
I see some of the swings, may be test errors as it seems they were handled very quickly (not good if so). Phosphate and nitrate being ones that looks the most suspect. I dont know how you dropped phosphate that quickly or how it got there that quickly.
What are you testing with?

esquare

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A par meter would help a lot in dialing in your lighting. If you don't have access to a par meter, search for people with similar setups that have posted their par. Another option would be to check out the BRS Investigates series to see if they have done any testing on your lights. I know they have tested Hydra's but not sure about the ATI Straton.

OP
OP
B

Bakki

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you own or can you rent a par meter?