Looking for input on my DIY Sump!

Mr_Robot

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The construction itself is a non-issue. I'm new to reef tanks, and I'm wanting to include some of the features I've seen on the forums.

Algae Scrubber - Is this considered a "must-have"? I'd like to build one into my sump, or at least provide room for one. Any suggested designs?

Refugium - Gotta feed the Mandarin! (and give snails a good place to breed)

Protein Skimmer - Does the skimmer NEED to go immediately after the filter socks? My Precision Marine RL150 is FREAKING HUGE. (24" from base to top of cup, and needs to sit in 7" water)

Speaking of order, is there a preferred water flow order for the other parts of the sump?

If anyone else is running SketchUp, I can provide the .skp file - the forums won't let me attach to the thread.

Refugium idea.png

Refugium idea 1.png

laverda

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
An ATS is defiantly worth incorporating in my opinion. See my DIY thread on easy and cheap ways to incorporate an ATS on just about any tank. It is best to have the output of your Refugium go directly to the return chamber. If your going to use filter socks set it up so they are easy to change. Hope this helps a little.

Ratherbeflyen

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The only "absolute must have" in any sump, is you have to make sure it has enough volume remaining so it doesn't flood/overflow if the return pump is off. There may be a good vs better way of doing something, like having an algae scrubber vs refugium, vs chemical filtration, they all will work. You would probably get a pretty even split on a poll as to which one is the "better" option. The same is true for things like media bags vs reactors, high flow vs low flow, rock vs sand, skimmer before or after sock, etc.