LPS / SPS advice for a Reef Noob :)

Paperfish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good evening fine people!

I'm a reef noob.

My 52 gallon setup is up and running since March 2021.
I have a lot of Vermetid snails. They don't seem to bother my soft corals, but I'm planning to add SPS / LPS to my tank.

I wanted to ask the experienced reefers -> do (small) Vermetid snails pose a big threat to stony corals? <-
Any recommendations for a first timer in the SPS / LPS field?

An overview so you have an idea of my bioload / system:

Tech used:

- Aqua Medic Aquarius 60 (led lights + controller... whites dimmed to max 10% - reds off - UV max 20%)
- Hydor Slim Skim protein skimmer* Nano 250 (up to 66 gallon)
- Eheim Thermocontrol E 150W
- Small filter that I use to run carbon and aggitate surface area
- Jecod / Jebao SLW-20 M wave maker (@100%)
- Tunze Nanostream 6015
- Auto top off system
- Reversed osmosis system + Aquaforest Reef Salt

-> *No Sump (I use a protein skimmer...) <- | I do 30% water changes every month

Sand / rock

Sandbed: Red Sea Live Ocean White 0,25-1mm +- 1 to 2 inch.
Rock: AquaForest AF Rock Mix (Corraline algea is growing and the ugly phase is over)

Live stock:

- 3 Nassarius snails + 4 babies (wohooo!)
- 4 Trochus snails + 3 babies (wohooo!)
- 3 Bumble Bee snails (to eat my vermetid snails... with limited succes lol)
- 1 Seahare - still alive and kicking --> feeding nori sheets since the GHG have been eradicated
- 2 clownfish (Amphiprion Occelaris)
- 1 Royal Gramma
- 1 Peppermint shrimp
- 2 Filament-finned prawn-goby / presumably dead and eaten (they didn't dare to leave their cave to feed... haven't seen then in 2 months)

Softies:

- Zoa's (3 x different spieces growing fast!)
- Proto Paly's (as fluo green as they get - slow grower)
- Sinularia Dura fluo Green (growing fast)
- Gorgonian (looks very fluffy with open polyps, so seems pretty healthy)

Advice is welcome!

Kind regards,
Paperfish

Reefer Matt

Officially Official Account