Mike's 5 gallon Pico (1st SW/Reef)

money88

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I picked up a Fluval Evo 5 gallon while I was out picking up a Fluval Spec III for my girlfriend about a month ago. I have been keeping a small log so I will be posting what I have so far over a bit of time and then continued updates as I continue to progress. This is my first attempt at saltwater and a reef so please bare with me and offer and tips or suggestions; I have been reading like crazy absorbing as much information as I can.

I also know that starting with such a small tank makes my first attempt at reefing more difficult but I am up for the challenge. I am already in the progress of putting together a 40g breeder as well but I haven't gotten around to cutting the tubing for my bean animal overflow yet. At least I have already drilled the tank and installed the overflow just not the tubing yet. Hopefully this endeavour with the 5 gallon will give me some insight and lessons that I use as I continue to learn.

But back to the 5 gallon, , I created this thread to track my progress and share my experiences. Any ideas, suggestions or comments are extremely welcome. I am currently going to running the evo pretty close to stock and seems so far so good.

My tank has been wet for 1 month and 10 days so far and I am learning so far every day of it. I have the bug and I am loving it so far. I have been taking on planted freshwater tanks up until now but I have always wanted to move into a reef tank. I also have a 2.7 gallon planted, 3 gallon planted, 10 gallon planted, and 30 gallon that I enjoy playing with those tanks as well.

Tank Specs:

Possible Tank Upgrades (in the future as needed):
  • Aqueon 600 to replace stock pump
  • Lighting (either Current USA Oribt or TrueLumen Aquatic LED Strips as an addition)
  • Hydor 240 / Hydor 180 (needed if I go to Aqueon 600?)

Current Inhabitants:
  • 1 Candy-cane Pistol Shrimp
  • 1 Cleaner Shrimp