My 55g starter tank.

Roccopaul

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm pretty new to reef tanks so this has definitly been a wild ride of research, doubting my life and budget, and trial and error with convincing the wife. But so far its been a blast. I originally had a 55g tank I used previously for freshwater. I started with just the tank and stand. Thinking that would help me spend less money I went into this rabiit hole of what to purchase.

I bought around 90lbs of ARC dry rock from ebay. 10lbs of live rock from GulfLiveRock. After what I felt like was an eternity of mixing salt and completly screwing up salinity over and over I finally nailed around 34ppt and went with it. November 24th was the first offical day of tank flowing with everything running.

Equipment on the DT:
55g Marine Land tank and 2 glass covers.
Carib-Sea Pink Fiji Sand
Red Sea Coral Pro Salt
Eshopps PF-800 Overflow (bought from a local)
Current USA Orbit Light with Mount Bracket
Two K7 V3s
Current USA eFlux Wave Pump

image2.jpeg

Equipment under DT:
Bashsea Biofuge 30-10-14
Eshopps PSK-75 Skimmer
Danner Model 5 Pump
CooSpider UV Filter
COB 150w Grow Light
Hygger 300w Heater
Hygger ATO with 5 gallon Home Depot Buck

IMG_6212.JPG
image0.jpeg
image1.jpeg

Random Equipment:
Red Sea Marine Test Kit
Cora-Life PureFlo II RO System
UPETTOOLS Gravel Cleaner
I'm probably missing other stuff.