My first corals - will they heal?

charliedarling

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hiya, newbie here. Have been in/around the fishkeeping hobby for 10+ years but recently took the plunge into reefing & saltwater. About three months ago I obtained a small AIO 8 gallon clownfish setup that had been abandoned in an office.

So far things have been good. It was bare when I got it other than the clowns and some crabs. After upgrading all of the equipment I stocked it with macroalge. Some diatoms blooms and minor issues aside it’s been great.

Fast forward to now - I got my first corals two weeks ago. A small chalice, and three small hammer / frogspawn looking dudes. They’ve been happy up until now.

I made the stupid decision to rearrange all my rock work (maybe not stupid as nothing was epoxied down and constantly falling), and I was able to glue the corals down to the rock work instead of staring at the frag plugs which is great, but it stressed everyone out. One of my clowns was heavy breathing with a wound on her tail. I raced to petco and bought some Herbtana because I thought she might have a parasite or some other outbreak.

I did one dose (according to the package), and she has perked up. I decided to stop dosing it because she started to act normal again and it shrunk up one of my corals badly. One of my hammers immediately “deflated” and started showing skeleton.

I did a 10% water change and changed out my carbon and added extra in a larger media bag. I’m worried I may have stupidly affected my coral negatively.

Here’s pictures of the coral from the LFS, the day I put it in the tank and now today. Time span is about a 2 week period.

At LFS

IMG_7137.png

First day in tank

IMG_7136.png

Today, two days after herbtana

IMG_7131.jpeg

Parameters are as follows

Salinity 34.9 ppt
pH 7.8
Alk 12.7
Nitrate 7.8 (dosing neonitro, otherwise it’s 0.0)
Phos 0.05
Cal 445
Mag 1380