NEED HELP! First time salt water tank owner!

megan.911

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am BRAND NEW to the fish world and was gifted a 13 gallon Fluval salt tank and need to know where to start. I’ve watch YouTube videos, I’ve read up but for some reason can’t figure out where to start. Where is the best place to get supplies? Is it safe to just go off what the fish store worker recommends? If someone on here has the time and could give me a little check list including brands that aren’t too pricey I would greatly appreciate it! I am looking to have shrimp, coral, and maybe some clown fish!

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Hello, I am BRAND NEW to the fish world and was gifted a 13 gallon Fluval salt tank and need to know where to start. I’ve watch YouTube videos, I’ve read up but for some reason can’t figure out where to start. Where is the best place to get supplies? Is it safe to just go off what the fish store worker recommends? If someone on here has the time and could give me a little check list including brands that aren’t too pricey I would greatly appreciate it! I am looking to have shrimp, coral, and maybe some clown fish!
Welcome to the world of:
Aggravation
Expense
Worry
Ocean in your home
Chemistry

BUT ITS SO WORTH IT

AnotherReefHobbyist

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
welcome!

there are so many details that we could go into, but lets start with the basics.

I would recommend sitting down and watching brs 5 minute guide to reefing series. very helpful for a new reefer.

After that come back and ask any specific questions you have any we would be more than happy to help you out!

Seymo44

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I started with the same tank! You’re going to be blasted with a bunch of “recommendations” from people who think their way is the only way.