New 2 Reefing

Dale Lones

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I'm Dale and I'm new to the hobby. I would like to pick the minds of a lot of you readers. I have most of the equipment to start my tank but I would like to have everything needed to be successful.
I have 150 gallon tank with stand. 40 gallon eshopp sump and protien skimmer. Fluval led lighting...and this is where my equipment ends. Please help...thanks in advance

nautical_nathaniel

Indecision may or may not be my problem.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R! :D You came to the right place!

What kind of tank are you trying to set up, coral reef, fish only with live rock (FOWLR), or a predator tank?

Retro Reefer

Slow and steady wins the race!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
257145F8-50A8-4AE1-BAE7-FCA1626D25C0.gif

4FordFamily

Tang, Angel, and Wrasse Nerd!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome home, you will love it here!

Keep us posted with your build with a ton of photos!

I always go big with skimmers and I am partial to large ASM skimmers.

saintsreturn

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to the site. IMO, lighting and flow are your two largest things first off to plan. I am not familiar with the lighting you have, but with the flow on that size tank, you are going to want something adjustable and strong. Adjustable is nice so you can work with feed modes and dial it back when you start moving coral around. I am a big fan of the EcoTech lines and use them on my 110. That said, they are a lot of great options that are tried and proven.