New Acropora Frag problem

Oceansinmybasement

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Seems I’m having some difficulty with a new frag I got! I am new to corals and have only had some Zoa’s for a few weeks that are doing well. Saw a Acro frag on sale and thought hey why not give it a try. It’s now day three and seems an entire branch has gone white. On day two it looked as if it’s exterior was peeling off. Not sure if it’s bleached or if it’s actually dying, looking for an opinion or some advice on next steps. My magnesium is a little low and I will start dosing for that but other parameters are all within normal limits. I am using a Current USA LED lighting system, and have placed the frag at the top of my rocks, still about 8 inches from the surface. It’s in a high flow area, almost in a direct path of a power head. Not sure if placement is correct or not. Not sure if it matters but specifically this is a Acropora Granulosa.

Water parameters as follows; Calcium 440ppm, Magnesium 1080ppm, Alkalinity 8.5dkh, pH 8.0, Ammonia/Nitrate/nitrite 0ppm, Salinity 1.024, phosphate 0.02ppm

I’ve attached some photos, best I could get. They are from today, don’t have any from before unfortunately.

14A86C65-EFD4-4908-A999-ACAE3909A586.jpeg D7D3F2C4-60E4-49F5-8370-09B4042857BD.jpeg 50D78C74-07A0-4BA9-A9A2-75387971E9E2.jpeg

andrewey

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It looks like it's RTNing. It could be due to flow, acclimation, tank instability, water chemistry, shipping, etc.

How old is the tank?

There are many concerns I have, but ultimately, are you sure you and/your tank are ready for SPS? Generally speaking, "new to corals" and acropora don't do well together.

OP
OP
Oceansinmybasement

Oceansinmybasement

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0