New and need help asap

Brandong91

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, I'm brand new to this hobby. Well I bought everything I needed to start. I'm using a 55 gal tank. I have live sand in it, a few live rocks. I have 4 clowns swimming around. My pH level looks to be about an 8. Well the problem is my ammonia level is getting high. About 5 days ago it was at a 1.0 and now it looks like it's at a 2.0. I went to the local fish store and they told me not to feed them anymore and they also sold me a bottle of bacteria they said to add once a day. Well it's been about 5 days now and it looks like the level is getting higher. They said not to do a water change because it's a new tank. The tank has been running for about a month now. Any help at all??? I don't want the fish to die.

OP
OP
B

Brandong91

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Correction, when I saw it was at a 1.0 that's when I started adding the good bacteria. And I retested it about 5 days later and there's no improvement. And it looks like it got a little worse.

lolmatt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1. Pick two clowns and remove the others, 4 clowns isn't gonna work in a 55.

2. Ammonia at 2.0 is very toxic to fish. Add some seachem prime asap, or remove the fish into new saltwater.

3. The tank should have cycled much longer. If you can have the lfs take the fish back, do that (maybe they'll watch them for a few weeks), let the tank cycle, then readd two clowns only. If you can't do this, prepare to do water changes and add prime often.

4. If any shops near you sell fritz turbo start 900 (must be refrigerated), add the 4oz bottle and it'll help cycle faster, probably in like 3-4 days.

Maacc

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0