New Red Sea 350 G2 set up

AquaCave

caller89

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2022
Messages
59
Reaction score
95
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Croydon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi fellow Reefers

Iv been encouraged to post my new build of the Red Sea 350 G2.

What I'm aiming for is an advance mixed reef rank that can home a variety of corals from acropora , euphyllia, Duncanopsammia, Zoanthids, monipora , etc.

Reef factory is a fairly new company to the market , I decided to give them a good go and purchased their entire product range. Unlike the Apex system RF just monitors your system and doesn't have the complete function to control. Obviously temperature and ATO is controlled.

As many would agree you should never rely on a controller to make adjustments to your tank. Not because I don't trust them , if I'm going to crash a tank it should be because I did something wrong not a controller. Can't learn if you have everything being done for you.

Below is a list of my equipment.

1 x Redsea 350 Gen 2
2 x Reef flare Pro M lighting
1 x Deltec 1000i Protein skimmer
1 x Vectra M2 return pump
4 x Vortex MP40s
1 x ReefMat 500 fleece roller.
1 x Deltec Twin Tech calcium reactor
1 x Reef Factory KH Keeper Pro
1 x Reef Factory Salinity Guardian
2 x Reef Factory PH sensors (Tank and Reactor)
1 x Reef factory Thermo controllers with DD fans and DD Titanium Heater.
1 x Reef Factory 3 head doser
1 x Reef Factory Level Keeper
1 x DD 10w UV

At present my tank is 4 weeks into a fishless cycle , so still missing key equipment as you will see from my images below.


One thing you will notice I'm big on cable managment. This tank when fully completed will have 22 plugs, that's just insane and I believe unsafe. Therefore I built a 24 switch PDU where most equipment can plug directly into the PDU via C13 to C14 cables. We're plugs are required I just used adapters.

The PDU only requires 3 plugs from my wall.

The aquascape I had custom made by Col and R&R Aquascape. His work is amazing , I sent some ideas and he delivered a work of art. I can't wait to start adding some corals in a few months time.

Over the course of the next few months I will bring my Deltec TwinTech calcium reactor, UV filter and dosing unit online . This will be my next update.

Thanks to those who managed to reach this part of the thread and stayed awake.

Happy reefing

20221027_175950.jpg 20221027_175945.jpg 20221027_175935.jpg 20221027_175929.jpg 20221027_175920.jpg 20221027_175850.jpg 20221027_175839.jpg 20221027_175831.jpg 20221027_175711.jpg 20221027_175706.jpg
 
Last edited:
OP
caller89

caller89

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2022
Messages
59
Reaction score
95
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Croydon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Tuans

I'm currently planning my stock at moment , im going to start with a euphyllia garden and slowly build up my LPS and soft coral while the tank becomes more established prior to adding acropora and other SPS corals
 
Corals.com

Doron_ho

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 5, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Israel
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nice setup!
You've invested on a great equipment with a great finish on clean look (without wires).

I've got some question regarding your gear and status..
1. What is the current status of your aquarium? can you plz share some photos.
2. Do you find it too much or safe on having 4 MP40's on this size, or 2 MP40's is enough.
3. Have you compared on how these lights present colors with comparison to other brands?
-- I'm currently using 2xRS90 LEDs and thinking about moving to RF flare pro light for my LPS RS300.
 
OP
caller89

caller89

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2022
Messages
59
Reaction score
95
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Croydon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, looking good! I was thinking of getting the same lights, how are you finding them? Isn’t that much info out there yet on them. Thanks
The lights are amazing if I'm being honest, iv only used redsea lights before.

The Flare Pro are very powerful , the only downside is the light spill, im currently having shades designed and build to keep the spill from spilling into my living room.

Reef factory don't give alot of information on these lights , maybe because RF are so new , but their customer support it great.

Very easy to set up and adjust intensity and spectrum.

Let me know of you need any information on them light screen shots of GUI
 
Nutramar Foods

parclife

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 8, 2022
Messages
55
Reaction score
69
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
uk
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The lights are amazing if I'm being honest, iv only used redsea lights before.

The Flare Pro are very powerful , the only downside is the light spill, im currently having shades designed and build to keep the spill from spilling into my living room.

Reef factory don't give alot of information on these lights , maybe because RF are so new , but their customer support it great.

Very easy to set up and adjust intensity and spectrum.

Let me know of you need any information on them light screen shots of GUI
I’m definitely sold on them now, will watch your post for any more pics of them in action. Thanks for the reply
 

ninjamyst

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
1,732
Reaction score
2,530
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Orlando
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your scape is a little too high. It will really limit what you can put at the top of the arch. You may think SPS but there's not much vertical growth. I had a similar scape before and my SPS started to grow out of the tank. But I can't put anything else there without bleaching it.
 
OP
caller89

caller89

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2022
Messages
59
Reaction score
95
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Croydon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nice setup!
You've invested on a great equipment with a great finish on clean look (without wires).

I've got some question regarding your gear and status..
1. What is the current status of your aquarium? can you plz share some photos.
2. Do you find it too much or safe on having 4 MP40's on this size, or 2 MP40's is enough.
3. Have you compared on how these lights present colors with comparison to other brands?
-- I'm currently using 2xRS90 LEDs and thinking about moving to RF flare pro light for my LPS RS300.
Thank you, this was a big investment, just don't tell my wife, she will divorce me if she knew how much this setup cost.

Of course happy to answer your questions. Please see below.

1. My tank is currently cycling at present, as I never used live rock or sand it maybe some time before I can add live stock. Still waiting for my ammonia and Nitrite to zero . Only when I can zero them both between 12hour testing period from adding ammonia will I add live stock.

2. Alot of people have asked me this question, on paper 4 MP40s is probably overkill, however I run some of them at max 35% and have a custom template that provides an ever changing flow pattern front and back it's never the same. I have been testing the pattern using air stone method. On one side where I plan having heavy stocked SPS my flow is very high and turbulent, the only where I plan on having LPS is gentle. At present iv tuned them so my sand bed doesn't blow around. Only when I add live stock will I know if I have got it right.

3. I did install one of them over my current nano tank at very low intensity for a few days. The colour spectrum made my corals pop especially my hammers and frog spawns. I ran alittle more red to give those oranges and reds pop more.

After testing my tank today I believe I have another 4 - 6 weeks until I'm satisfied with my cycle and sustainable bacteria. I cycle with lights off , so still got to go through the ugly phase. However I will use Brightwell clear up when the time is right.

I will be updating this thread with more pictures as my tank progresses.

One thing I will say is that in really impressed with is the Reef factory KH keeper plus.
 
OP
caller89

caller89

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2022
Messages
59
Reaction score
95
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Croydon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your scape is a little too high. It will really limit what you can put at the top of the arch. You may think SPS but there's not much vertical growth. I had a similar scape before and my SPS started to grow out of the tank. But I can't put anything else there without bleaching it.
I do agree, I wanted it alittle bit higher than normal so I can run my lights a little less intensity but still have enough PAR for those PAR seeking SPS. However think i went to high, i could probably loose another 1 1/4 inches by sinking my scape to the tank bottom. Not on the sand bed.

I will be looking at wide branching SPS at this location to try limit corals growing out of the tank.

Once my shades arrive for my lights I will fine tune them using a PAR meter.

I wont run both lights at the same spectrum nor intensity as my corals will be pretty split in the tank based on their PAR and flow requirements.
 
Last edited:
OP
caller89

caller89

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2022
Messages
59
Reaction score
95
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Croydon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m definitely sold on them now, will watch your post for any more pics of them in action. Thanks for the reply
Let me know if you choose to go with them and add to an stocked tank , you may have more data before I do , this will help with with fine tuning.

I have attached some photos below of the RF GUI if you and others are interested.

I'm only dosing KH during cycling to keep my PH high, normally between 8.1 - 8.4, once live stock added ill switch over to my calcium reactor.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20221105-170622_SmartReef.jpg
    Screenshot_20221105-170622_SmartReef.jpg
    36.2 KB · Views: 16
  • Screenshot_20221105-170615_SmartReef.jpg
    Screenshot_20221105-170615_SmartReef.jpg
    35.1 KB · Views: 6
  • Screenshot_20221105-170603_SmartReef.jpg
    Screenshot_20221105-170603_SmartReef.jpg
    34.4 KB · Views: 5
  • Screenshot_20221105-170556_SmartReef.jpg
    Screenshot_20221105-170556_SmartReef.jpg
    34.7 KB · Views: 5
  • Screenshot_20221105-170545_SmartReef.jpg
    Screenshot_20221105-170545_SmartReef.jpg
    55.5 KB · Views: 6
  • Screenshot_20221105-170528_SmartReef.jpg
    Screenshot_20221105-170528_SmartReef.jpg
    45.9 KB · Views: 8
  • Screenshot_20221105-170522_SmartReef.jpg
    Screenshot_20221105-170522_SmartReef.jpg
    44 KB · Views: 10
  • Screenshot_20221105-170501_SmartReef.jpg
    Screenshot_20221105-170501_SmartReef.jpg
    53.2 KB · Views: 10

parclife

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 8, 2022
Messages
55
Reaction score
69
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
uk
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let me know if you choose to go with them and add to an stocked tank , you may have more data before I do , this will help with with fine tuning.

I have attached some photos below of the RF GUI if you and others are interested.

I'm only dosing KH during cycling to keep my PH high, normally between 8.1 - 8.4, once live stock added ill switch over to my calcium reactor.
Will do, did you get the full spectrum or the blues? I’m leaning blue, there’s a shop near me that sells them so going to have a look tomo.
 
RAP Orlando
OP
caller89

caller89

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2022
Messages
59
Reaction score
95
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Croydon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Will do, did you get the full spectrum or the blues? I’m leaning blue, there’s a shop near me that sells them so going to have a look tomo.
I went for the blue spectrum, let me know how you get on
 

LarryNuke

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 7, 2022
Messages
19
Reaction score
29
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
north of seattle
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi fellow Reefers

Iv been encouraged to post my new build of the Red Sea 350 G2.

What I'm aiming for is an advance mixed reef rank that can home a variety of corals from acropora , euphyllia, Duncanopsammia, Zoanthids, monipora , etc.

Reef factory is a fairly new company to the market , I decided to give them a good go and purchased their entire product range. Unlike the Apex system RF just monitors your system and doesn't have the complete function to control. Obviously temperature and ATO is controlled.

As many would agree you should never rely on a controller to make adjustments to your tank. Not because I don't trust them , if I'm going to crash a tank it should be because I did something wrong not a controller. Can't learn if you have everything being done for you.

Below is a list of my equipment.

1 x Redsea 350 Gen 2
2 x Reef flare Pro M lighting
1 x Deltec 1000i Protein skimmer
1 x Vectra M2 return pump
4 x Vortex MP40s
1 x ReefMat 500 fleece roller.
1 x Deltec Twin Tech calcium reactor
1 x Reef Factory KH Keeper Pro
1 x Reef Factory Salinity Guardian
2 x Reef Factory PH sensors (Tank and Reactor)
1 x Reef factory Thermo controllers with DD fans and DD Titanium Heater.
1 x Reef Factory 3 head doser
1 x Reef Factory Level Keeper
1 x DD 10w UV

At present my tank is 4 weeks into a fishless cycle , so still missing key equipment as you will see from my images below.


One thing you will notice I'm big on cable managment. This tank when fully completed will have 22 plugs, that's just insane and I believe unsafe. Therefore I built a 24 switch PDU where most equipment can plug directly into the PDU via C13 to C14 cables. We're plugs are required I just used adapters.

The PDU only requires 3 plugs from my wall.

The aquascape I had custom made by Col and R&R Aquascape. His work is amazing , I sent some ideas and he delivered a work of art. I can't wait to start adding some corals in a few months time.

Over the course of the next few months I will bring my Deltec TwinTech calcium reactor, UV filter and dosing unit online . This will be my next update.

Thanks to those who managed to reach this part of the thread and stayed awake.

Happy reefing

20221027_175950.jpg 20221027_175945.jpg 20221027_175935.jpg 20221027_175929.jpg 20221027_175920.jpg 20221027_175850.jpg 20221027_175839.jpg 20221027_175831.jpg 20221027_175711.jpg 20221027_175706.jpg
Hi fellow Reefers

Iv been encouraged to post my new build of the Red Sea 350 G2.

What I'm aiming for is an advance mixed reef rank that can home a variety of corals from acropora , euphyllia, Duncanopsammia, Zoanthids, monipora , etc.

Reef factory is a fairly new company to the market , I decided to give them a good go and purchased their entire product range. Unlike the Apex system RF just monitors your system and doesn't have the complete function to control. Obviously temperature and ATO is controlled.

As many would agree you should never rely on a controller to make adjustments to your tank. Not because I don't trust them , if I'm going to crash a tank it should be because I did something wrong not a controller. Can't learn if you have everything being done for you.

Below is a list of my equipment.

1 x Redsea 350 Gen 2
2 x Reef flare Pro M lighting
1 x Deltec 1000i Protein skimmer
1 x Vectra M2 return pump
4 x Vortex MP40s
1 x ReefMat 500 fleece roller.
1 x Deltec Twin Tech calcium reactor
1 x Reef Factory KH Keeper Pro
1 x Reef Factory Salinity Guardian
2 x Reef Factory PH sensors (Tank and Reactor)
1 x Reef factory Thermo controllers with DD fans and DD Titanium Heater.
1 x Reef Factory 3 head doser
1 x Reef Factory Level Keeper
1 x DD 10w UV

At present my tank is 4 weeks into a fishless cycle , so still missing key equipment as you will see from my images below.


One thing you will notice I'm big on cable managment. This tank when fully completed will have 22 plugs, that's just insane and I believe unsafe. Therefore I built a 24 switch PDU where most equipment can plug directly into the PDU via C13 to C14 cables. We're plugs are required I just used adapters.

The PDU only requires 3 plugs from my wall.

The aquascape I had custom made by Col and R&R Aquascape. His work is amazing , I sent some ideas and he delivered a work of art. I can't wait to start adding some corals in a few months time.

Over the course of the next few months I will bring my Deltec TwinTech calcium reactor, UV filter and dosing unit online . This will be my next update.

Thanks to those who managed to reach this part of the thread and stayed awake.

Happy reefing

20221027_175950.jpg 20221027_175945.jpg 20221027_175935.jpg 20221027_175929.jpg 20221027_175920.jpg 20221027_175850.jpg 20221027_175839.jpg 20221027_175831.jpg 20221027_175711.jpg 20221027_175706.jpg
Nice setup. I'm very interested in your PDU. Can you provide more information on it or where I can find it on the web? Is it 120v distribution or did you distribute DC? I have considered distributing DC and getting rid of all the bumps in the cords but it seems everything wants a different voltage.

Like the reef design. I'm setting up a new Reefer 300 and have not settled on a reef design.
 
OP
caller89

caller89

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2022
Messages
59
Reaction score
95
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Croydon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nice setup. I'm very interested in your PDU. Can you provide more information on it or where I can find it on the web? Is it 120v distribution or did you distribute DC? I have considered distributing DC and getting rid of all the bumps in the cords but it seems everything wants a different voltage.

Like the reef design. I'm setting up a new Reefer 300 and have not settled on a reef design.
Thank you.

Of course , so I have 3nr 8 switch DJ switches with C13 sockets on the back , each socket is 250v max , 110v minimum at 10amps each. Each PDU can do a maximum of 3.6kw which is more than enough.

I have 3 so thats 10.8kw total , however all 3 combined don't pull any more than 900watts everything running simultaneously.

Where I have equipment that comes with a transformer, or C14 socket I just replace the cable with a C13 to C14 lead at 500mm to 1000mm long. This plugs straight into the PDU and transformer. No mains plug adapter.

Where I have a peace of equipment that just plugs straight into the wall at 230v I cut the plug off and fit a C14 plug , again straight into the PDU.

For the few items i have that have a 12v plug and 2.5mm DC connector, I just used a C14 to UK plug adapter.

I then made a custom panel Where the PDUs were flush with the face , C14 to UK plug adapter velcroed to the rear and a little step to allow for my RF thermo Control and RF level keeper.

Below are images of items purchased.

Let me know if you require anything more
 

Attachments

  • 41CE3mj-lqL._AC_SY1000_.jpg
    41CE3mj-lqL._AC_SY1000_.jpg
    13.9 KB · Views: 5
  • 41LVMODheUL._SS284_.jpg
    41LVMODheUL._SS284_.jpg
    6.4 KB · Views: 4
  • 41+LoEt-bDL.jpg
    41+LoEt-bDL.jpg
    30.9 KB · Views: 11
  • 41u-tFY0LjL._SS284_.jpg
    41u-tFY0LjL._SS284_.jpg
    6.4 KB · Views: 7
  • 41QqozEAdRL.jpg
    41QqozEAdRL.jpg
    28.9 KB · Views: 27
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
caller89

caller89

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2022
Messages
59
Reaction score
95
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Croydon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All

Just an update on my new redsea 350 G2 build.

Only remaining item in sump area is to plumb UV filter , in the control section I just need to tidy up and complete the doser lines.

Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks
 

Attachments

  • 20221127_142254.jpg
    20221127_142254.jpg
    132.9 KB · Views: 21
  • 20221127_142250.jpg
    20221127_142250.jpg
    147.3 KB · Views: 20
  • 20221127_142243.jpg
    20221127_142243.jpg
    154.1 KB · Views: 22
  • 20221127_142218.jpg
    20221127_142218.jpg
    226.5 KB · Views: 26
  • 20221127_142206.jpg
    20221127_142206.jpg
    277.7 KB · Views: 31
World Wide Corals

aleksanderalski

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 10, 2022
Messages
52
Reaction score
51
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Poland
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Will do, did you get the full spectrum or the blues? I’m leaning blue, there’s a shop near me that sells them so going to have a look tomo.
Here you have photos of tanks with Reef Flare Pro. I would recommend you the Blue version. Gives you huge power and a lot of PAR with bigger flexibility in adjusting blue channels. Most of the pics are blue versions.
 

Attachments

  • 8D070776-5BB2-46F6-891D-69E7BD84E20C.jpeg
    8D070776-5BB2-46F6-891D-69E7BD84E20C.jpeg
    148 KB · Views: 18
  • C9F3D037-0B7E-4C3C-9B68-43AF48E7B631.jpeg
    C9F3D037-0B7E-4C3C-9B68-43AF48E7B631.jpeg
    234.8 KB · Views: 17
  • E895A962-847B-4C90-9690-BA06627EAF9A.jpeg
    E895A962-847B-4C90-9690-BA06627EAF9A.jpeg
    215.9 KB · Views: 15
  • 36DB828F-7C26-4D55-9548-FD820256A15B.jpeg
    36DB828F-7C26-4D55-9548-FD820256A15B.jpeg
    252.8 KB · Views: 14
  • C36DEB40-5E20-486D-9A34-B2922ABE8947.jpeg
    C36DEB40-5E20-486D-9A34-B2922ABE8947.jpeg
    198.1 KB · Views: 15
  • D4A26B90-0DE0-42FF-A1D4-9FE0825F1C30.jpeg
    D4A26B90-0DE0-42FF-A1D4-9FE0825F1C30.jpeg
    306.6 KB · Views: 16
  • D5302821-E301-478D-A56D-AFC7D2FE40E9.jpeg
    D5302821-E301-478D-A56D-AFC7D2FE40E9.jpeg
    244.1 KB · Views: 14
  • F199AFE9-764C-48D1-82AB-A4723F6FDFA5.jpeg
    F199AFE9-764C-48D1-82AB-A4723F6FDFA5.jpeg
    301.7 KB · Views: 9
AquaCave

How difficult is it REALLY to keep Acropora corals?

  • 1 - easy to keep

    Votes: 20 3.6%
  • 2

    Votes: 6 1.1%
  • 3

    Votes: 14 2.5%
  • 4

    Votes: 14 2.5%
  • 5 - average

    Votes: 155 27.5%
  • 6

    Votes: 48 8.5%
  • 7

    Votes: 144 25.6%
  • 8

    Votes: 86 15.3%
  • 9

    Votes: 20 3.6%
  • 10 - difficult to keep

    Votes: 56 9.9%
Top