New to hobby, question about parameters during cycle

JustinMN18

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! This is my first post, and I am also brand new to the reef aquarium hobby.

Here's my question.

I'm trying to cycle my 55 gallon aquarium. Salt and temp are all good. I have 2 clowns in the tank after using Dr. Tims One And Only, and have been cycling for 4 days (tracking for 3). I also have live sand and dry rock. Here are my parameters (red sea test kit)

Amonia has been 0.2 the whole time (looking at colors can be challenging, but this is my best guess).

Nitrite has been at 0.05 the whole time.

Nitrate has been at 2 the whole time.

Phosphate has been dropping from 0.08 to 0.03 today.

I'm just unsure of this is how it's supposed to be. Fish seem totally fine, swimming and eating. I haven't done a water change either, since the aquarium is 4 days old.

Any advice or thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone!

piranhaman00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome.

Fish should not be added until after the cycle is completed. Ammonia is very toxic to fish so your clowns are potentially in for some agony. adding a bacterial supplement usually is all that’s needed to avoid this so you may be ok.

All you need to test right now is ammonia. It should read 0ppm. When it does Test nitrite, that should also read 0ppm. Then you are cycled. Test kits can be hard to differentiate at near 0 concentrations. I’ve never used Red Sea but be aware of that.

You should Never do water change during cycle process, with fish it’s different because they can be potentially be getting poisoned. With a 55 gallon and two fish I would suspect you will be ok.

OP
OP
J

JustinMN18

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome.