New to Reefing

scriptmonkey

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Howdy,
My name is Tom and I am new to the hobby. I am in the very beginning stages of deploying it. I am doing a 75 gallon Marineland corner flow which what i have read might not be able to flow the 10-20x flow that i have read a reef needs seeing it is capped out at 600-700GPH due to 1" bulkheads. ( I am sure you will see a post at another time here soon about my thoughts on how to deal with that).

I have purchased a 30 gallon tank which I plan on using as a sump, still educating myself on that and if I am going to bother with a refugium or not. If I go refugium, return pump will be in the middle, fuge will be on right so I can throttle flow through it.

I picked up a Current Eflux dc pump that will be able to move about 1250GPH at 5' head pressure under optimal conditions. If I feel it is not up to the task them I will step up to a bigger one and put this on the shelf for use during water changes, auto top off system duties (That is a joke btw), or spare. Hmm running 2 simultaneously for redundancy....

Also picked up a AquaMaxx Cones Q-2 skimmer which I believe is bigger than I need to handle 75 gallons but I never seen thus far on this or any other forum any complaints on having too much skimming capacity.

I'm sure I am going to bombarding you guys and gals with stupid questions so be gentle. :)

jsker

Reefing is all about the adventure
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R Tom. That is going to be one great system. Ask away, there are pretty many there the will give you some great advice:)

dbl

It Takes Less Energy to be Nice
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R Tom and you've come to the right place. Plenty of willing and able folks here to help.

Salty1962

Wrasse and SPS Lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0