New to reefs, so Hello everyone :-)

Neil S.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

Very new (as in never before) to reef tanks.

A bit of background. My older sibling ran a Saltwater Aquarium back in the early 80's....I never forgot that tank, fascinating to watch!
Despite the trials, and failures ……...(Lionfish ate 11 Black Mollys in one go....dead Lionfish), then a LFS telling my sibling that yes these two (Mantis Shrimp and an Octopus) will be able to get along, "the Mantis Shrimp can look after itself"---- followed by the Octopus taking about 2 days to observe the Mantis Shrimp before making a meal of it!!…………..I have always wanted to start one of my own.

So onwards to current times: I've been running freshwater tanks for about 10 years and learned a fair amount about that side of aquariums. Now I'm in the process of starting a Nano Reef aquarium.

I have spent the last 2 months researching SW systems and I'm absolutely fascinated by the level of science that has made it's way into the hobby. The more information I get the more questions seem to come up.

My first tank is currently being built up, with a projected 'water-in' date of mid-October.
The setup will have the following:
- Fluval Vista Bowfront 25 gallon (approx.) 29" length x 11" wide (average) x 17" tall.
- I've custom built a new lid, essentially an eggcrate that fits quite well, to provide the maximum oxygenation possible.
- Fluval 206 Canister Filter with the following media:
- Coarse Foam > Medium Foam > Filter Floss > Seachem Matrix > Seachem Matrix Carbon > Seachem Purigen.
- Lighting is currently proposed to be the new Fluval Marine 3.0 but I'm still researching that.
- Heating provided by a Hydor ETH 200 Inline Heater.
- Powerhead is an Icecap Gyre 1000. (built for Nano tanks)