new to reefs, time to get salty

Marcus McConnell

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hello everyone, I'm new to saltwater tanks but have quite a few years doing freshwater aquariums, either between helping my dad run what he called his monster, a 100gal "swamp tank" with fish ranging from feeder tetras to a 14in catfish, live planted with controlled algae growth, and his "clean tank" that was a 120gal extra tall extra wide, which was brackish for bichirs and inverts. been around fish for a better part of my life, and moved a few years ago from ocean front to out in the middle of nowhere, and I'm starting to miss being able to just take a little walk to go sit on the rocks and watch the sea life around me. I'm planning on starting 3 tank builds sometime within the next year, rebuilding the swamp tank, and jumping head first off a cliff in to reef tanks. I'm going to be making a red sea reefer 250 anemone tank with some smaller corals/sps and clownfish, and what will become my monster, an approximate 200-300gal full reef tank that I want to try triton with.

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!
welcome12_af875eaa887ed91c39e4c81c7d4fd966-0ed06ab93ea565647147c6beddbca4eb.gif
giphy.gif

OP
OP
Marcus McConnell

Marcus McConnell

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Swamp tank! Love that.

Welcome!
Is was awesome, had to do to it was a 50%water change and trimming once a year and throw in 2 bloodworm cubes a week, everything else was self sustained, tetras reproduced at a incredible rate to feed all the other fish, phytoplankton fed the tetras, and the plants were thick and well grown, shrimp and snails kept algae at a controlled level. Our LFS did a spotlight on it in their monthly news letter. We ended up moving half way across the country a few months after the photoshoot, we donated all the contents to the LFS minus one of our big catfish, who sadly didn't make the trip.

LadyMac