New to Salt. Recommendations for equipment.

PlagueisDamask

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I'm new to the saltwater side of the hobby and have no idea where to start. I recently purchased a Aqueon 29 gallon standard during Petco's dollar/gallon sale.

I'm wanting to do everything as cheap as possible, but still have good and reliable equipment. My current plan is to run two Aquaclear 70s (maybe with the refugium mod on one or both) and two Orlushy 100w Heaters as these look like they can fit in the hob filters.

As stated, I only have the tank right now and want to price everything out before diving in.

Recommendation on filters, heaters, lights, wave makers, skimmers, etc. would be greatly appreciated.

My goal is to have softies and lps coral at first with a couple clowns and maybe a few smaller fish that this tank could accommodate. I'm wanting to do about 30 lbs. of live rock and 40 lbs of live sand to start it off.

Thanks in advance!

Gareth elliott

Read, Tinker, Fail, Learn
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For inexpensive reliable powerheads.
Go korallia they will outlive your tank. If go for the nanos pick the largest size as they produce less flow than they state.

https://pacificeastaquaculture.com/...-of-ocean-revive-artic-t247-led-light-fixture are a solid light option

you could go skimmerless on a 29 gallon. And just do water changes, spending the money instead on a few pumps and tubing and maybe 7-10 gallon bucket to make this easier.

Phil D.

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can get good LEDs on Ebay, recommend AI Hydra 26 or 52, (26 has 2 pucks and 52 has 3)

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Howdy
I have a 20g I use as a rock nem tank.
A Jebao OW10 is what I use for a power head. I have an AI Prime light.

Fishko

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0