Newbie 20 gallon macroalgae build

Elijah F

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Alright, so a quick introduction: hi, I'm Elijah, and I've been working with freshwater planted tanks for around 5 years. This is my very first saltwater tank, and while I do aim to get a couple corals later on, my primary goal with this tank is to grow macroalgae. Seeing planted macroalgae tanks was what brought me into the salty side of the hobby; sure the fish and corals are beautiful too, but as someone with a naturally green thumb, I loved the idea of growing plants in a saltwater tank. So without further to do, here's my tank:

20221206_195137.jpg

Okay, It's certainly not much right now, but it's still only 2 months old. That being said, there are some noteworthy elements I'd like to share.
20221206_195143.jpg

As mentioned, it's a standard 20 gallon aquarium. Not too big to the point of burning through my wallet, but still large enough to house some neat creatures. The equipment is pretty simple too: I'm running an Aquaclear 30 on one end, a koralia 240gph pump on the other, an inkbird thermostat and a fluval 50 watt heater. I also have an old freshwater nicrew light on top for now, but I ordered a higher quality saltwater nicrew light that will hopefully get here soon. The tank also gets natural sunlight for 3-4 hours a day through the window. I also designed and built a diy lid, made from polycarbonate panels and carbon fiber windowscreen. I might be a newbie to saltwater, but I know the dangers of "flying fish", and have similar lids on my other freshwater aquarium.
20221206_195156.jpg

Also, because I'm pretty cheap resourceful, I crafted sponge covers for both the filter cover and powerhead. Yes, they need cleaning, but they keep the equipment clean and free from debris, while also acting as a safeguard for future animals. Also yes, I'll clean them in a little bit.
20221206_195033.jpg