Newbie From Maryland

Wamland

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,
Just joined from Maryland. This is my first attempt at a Saltwater tank. I have been running multiple freshwater tanks for over a decade with everything from shrimp to discus. After taking a trip to Grand Cayman last year and enjoying snorkling, I finally decided to convert one of my 20 gallon tanks from fresh to salt.
Whole new world for me and it's always been a bit daunting. So I am looking around for tips and tricks and hoping to try and avoid as many pitfalls as I can. I love planted tanks in all of my freshwater tanks and I'm going to be getting into corals as well as some fish and crustaceans. I've put in my first coral, a pulsing Xinia and it has made it through acclimation so far.
I added a pistol shrimp and a Watchmen Goby yesterday and they have synched up nicely. Was a bit worried as the fish store told me it was a 50/50 shot. The shrimp has taken to digging what appears to be every grain of sand in the tank with the Goby keeping a watchful eye. It truly is a blast to watch them and one of the kids has decided to name them Penn And Teller. It fits well.
Looking forward to learning a lot and meeting new folks.
Thanks
Will

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!!

Clownfish.gif

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,
Just joined from Maryland. This is my first attempt at a Saltwater tank. I have been running multiple freshwater tanks for over a decade with everything from shrimp to discus. After taking a trip to Grand Cayman last year and enjoying snorkling, I finally decided to convert one of my 20 gallon tanks from fresh to salt.