Newbie mistake! Need help!!

MJReefer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok guys, newbie here and did a blunder. someone want to rehome their two naso tang, one medium blue tang and a large sailfin tang immediately. So I took them and put in my new 210 gallon tank with 50 gallon sump, dry purple life rock and live sand. Added fritz 9000 16 oz the same day and added prime to make sure there is no ammonia spike.

After three days, sailfin had ich like symptoms so I added copper 1.5ppm. Ick is gone in two days and he is doing fine and eating good. The problem is my tank is not cycled after 10 days. even after adding the fritz 9000 twice.(800 gallon equivalent)

I read that copper will kill benificial bacteria. How do I remove copper from my tank?

I know I rushed. It was my fault. I just need some help to get this fixed.

Parameters:

10/08
Ph
Ammonia - 0.4
Nitrite - 0.5
Nitrate - 2
Added fritz 16oz

10/10
Ammonia - 0.4
Nitrite - 0.5
Nitrate - 2
Ph- 8.33

10/11
Ammonia - 0.4
Nitrite - 0.5
Nitrate - 2
Ph- 8.32

10/12
Ammonia - 0.4
Nitrite - 0.5
Nitrate - 2
Ph- 8.32

10/13
Ammonia - 1.2
Nitrite - 1
Nitrate - 2
Ph- 8.32

10/14
Ammonia - 0.2
Nitrite - 0.1
Nitrate - 5
Ph- 8.32
Added Fritz

10/15
Ammonia - 0.2
Nitrite - 0.2
Nitrate - 2
Ph- 8.32

10/16
Ammonia - 0.2
Nitrite - 0.2
Nitrate - 5
Ph- 8.32

Thanks!

reefz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No copper will not kill bacteria. How else would we cycle a qt? Your cycle is just stalling. Maybe some more bottled bac and time will help. My 60g qt took a month to cycle without fish. Just takes time

Nikolai_VN

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Look like your ammonia and nitrite/nitrate are being to move, it mean that your bacter is working slowly.