Newbie needs some help!

JuliaRuss

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!

I am a saltwater newbie: been running a fully cycled Fluval Evo for 2 months now. All equipment are stock.
The ph has not been super consist, but for the last two weeks it has been a steady 8.3. Ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate have been consistently at 0. Salinity has been steady at 1.025. Temp steady at 75.

current livestock include: one emerald crab, one peppermint shrimp, two Mexican turbo snails, one zoa frag, and one rainbow bubble tip anemone. There were two clown fish but after a month of battling with ich they both died. While I am letting the now fishless tank clear out of all ich, I would like to upgrade the lights and add more corals. But my other numbers have been worrisome to me. Mainly the KH is at zero for two weeks now. I do a one gallon water change (plus cleaning the sponge) every 2-3 days, and a 3 gallon water change every week. But here are the other numbers from last week to this week:

last week:
Mg: 1400
Ca: 360
KH: 0
PO4: 0.25

this week:
Mg: 1150
Ca: 485
KH: 0
PO4: 0.5

I am afraid to add any more corals since the numbers don’t seem to be a good support for healthy corals? Any idea why the elements are off and how I can fix it? Thank you so very much!!!!!

Julia

T-J

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R, and the reefing hobby!
First of all, your Alk can't be zero. Just by using a salt mix, you're going to have detectible levels of Alk. Get another test kit for alkalinity, or verify that you're using the one you have correctly. Most LFS will test your water for you if you bring in a sample.
Having Phosphate that high is not recommended. I generally try to stay under .1 You also want to have some Nitrates in there. Having some nitrates along with phosphate will be the best conditions for everything.