nitrates 54.9 not sure what to do

JK75gal

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,
Just got the Hanna Nitrate (and dKH) checkers. when I tested the Nitrates the reading was 54.9. I have overreacted in the past hurting my tank, this time I would prefer advise on what they should be. Of course, as a newbie I purchased the API tester which I have seen all of the chatter around how it so I made the leap to Hanna for these two and will be ordering the red sea kit for the rest.. but for now this is where I am. Help?? not sure what you need to know so, please ask away. Of course, if you don't mind.
Thank you :)

Ollie67

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,
Just got the Hanna Nitrate (and dKH) checkers. when I tested the Nitrates the reading was 54.9. I have overreacted in the past hurting my tank, this time I would prefer advise on what they should be. Of course, as a newbie I purchased the API tester which I have seen all of the chatter around how it so I made the leap to Hanna for these two and will be ordering the red sea kit for the rest.. but for now this is where I am. Help?? not sure what you need to know so, please ask away. Of course, if you don't mind.
How large is your tank? I would personally suggest doing a large water change (50-60% or more) if you are concerned about the nitrates. My nitrates tested 73ppm using Hanna a few days ago and I did a 50% water change which brought it down to 9.7ppm.

Also, it might be helpful to find a source of the high nitrates. Do you have fish? Are you feeding?

Sophie"s mom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,
I am sure others here will answer as well, but I recently experienced the same thing. I did 25 % water changes for 3 weeks in a row. I also added Tropic Marin Elimi NP along with Microbacter 7 daily. That got my numbers where they should be in that 3 weeks. However, you will also need to know your Phosphate number.

yury88

Community Member