No success with acros, need some help please

pokegirl1332

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
so I’ve been reefing for many years and had many tanks and many corals. Mostly successful just came back from a 4 day trip and it appears that our corals are bleaching, but it doesn’t make sense if anything our parameters are a little high as far as calcium and Nitrates are still decently low. Have aKessil ap700on a 100 gallon water box with a 40 gallon sump and an amazing deltec skimmer. Only 2 clowns and a melanarus wrasse right now. Any advice because my acros just won’t stay alive, also my chalices seem fine but they aren’t very vibrant. Been reading on some other threads about how low lighting can kill them but they appear to be bleaching after about a week.

OP
OP
pokegirl1332

pokegirl1332

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here is a pic of one of the dead acros, there were 2 and they both died within a week, idk I slow acclimated them and the water levels are pretty stable, maybe not enough?

0A48B0EF-2F8D-4AD7-94BD-976FA1595B25.jpeg

Highgrade

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sounds like it could be either lighting (too intense) or Nutrients (too low). What intensity are you running the Kessil? Also what is your N03/P04? If you're loosing tissue you could be having Alk swings.

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can you test a full-set of tank parameters? Kessil alone is not a great SPS light (they really need T5s to help them), but you should not be getting death and they ought to at least be OK. Low N and P are the same way - might impact the color slightly, but should still be alive.

Aaron-A2

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0