Noopsyche K7 Pro II - Crimson's Review and Growth Thread

spyder813

Ruben's Reef
View Badges
Joined
Jun 8, 2017
Messages
6,068
Reaction score
42,162
Location
Tampa
Here’s a link to the manual.
 

mermaid_life

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
326
Reaction score
235
Location
San Diego
Here’s a link to the manual.

Thank you!
 

John Grover

New Member
View Badges
Joined
May 2, 2020
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
I have a 50 gal tank with a 1 1/2” wood lip, please see photo, would I be able to mount one of these to my tank?

1AF468EA-8347-4639-8356-FCCEADBDED32.jpeg
 

EdLau

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 9, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
14
Hey thanks for the comprehensive review! Would one be good for a 29" long 18" wide tank? Mostly just softies.
 

Cerberusfish

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 7, 2019
Messages
239
Reaction score
109
Hey thanks for the comprehensive review! Would one be good for a 29" long 18" wide tank? Mostly just softies.
The edges may not get enough light and appear dark. The 18 inches wide would be just fine though. As usual I'd say mount them as high as you can.
 

CherBear811

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
234
Reaction score
106
Location
Kearney, NE
So with the remote you can program each channel to auto ramp the intensity you want at the ramp time you want? Also, how many times per day can each channel be programmed?
 

User

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 15, 2017
Messages
4,523
Reaction score
7,437
So with the remote you can program each channel to auto ramp the intensity you want at the ramp time you want? Also, how many times per day can each channel be programmed?
There are 7 time slots, so if you put 10am in a time slot, with white at 20%, then the next slot is 12pm and white at 50%, it will ramp up that 30% over the 2 hour time period

To keep the light at a constant level for say the next 4 hours- the 12pm and 4pm time slots will have whites at 50%, so the intensity doesn’t move
 

CherBear811

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
234
Reaction score
106
Location
Kearney, NE
I notice in the manual, it says under operation.... "Do not operate near any large magnets". I wonder if this caused an issue with the guy who kept losing programming? Many of us have strong magnets holding powerheads... how far from the light do we need to make sure the magnets are in order to ensure it doesn't cause a problem with programming?
 

CherBear811

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Messages
234
Reaction score
106
Location
Kearney, NE
There are 7 time slots, so if you put 10am in a time slot, with white at 20%, then the next slot is 12pm and white at 50%, it will ramp up that 30% over the 2 hour time period

To keep the light at a constant level for say the next 4 hours- the 12pm and 4pm time slots will have whites at 50%, so the intensity doesn’t move

Thanks for the reply! So you can program up to 7 times for each channel through out the day and it will ramp over the time in between the settings to the desired intensity or hold it if you program the same intensity, etc?
 

User

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 15, 2017
Messages
4,523
Reaction score
7,437
Thanks for the reply! So you can program up to 7 times for each channel through out the day and it will ramp over the time in between the settings to the desired intensity or hold it if you program the same intensity, etc?
Exactly.

but you really should give it 1.5 hours between slots for best ramping. It was a bit ‘choppy’ When I had an hour between slots.
 

nano reef

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2019
Messages
486
Reaction score
84
Really nice looking! I think you have just as much spread and coverage if not more than using the t'5s! They are really nice looking to .I love the mounts! How has growth been?and have you had any problems? My biggest concern with these lights is support after purchase. Is there a local or a US supplier? A us phone number or would any correspondence have to be done through email and sent to china for repair. If so that would probably be a deal breaker! I am in the market for lights and I saw some great bargains on ali expree all using cree leds but all based in China an noway to call even. The phone number are long and start with a plus symbol!
 

ridgeburyreefer

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 29, 2020
Messages
109
Reaction score
54
Location
ridgebury
Wow, just when I thought I’d settled on AI hydras..... this seals the deal, I’m gonna be a nooper

48x18x24 90 gallon, what would you recommend for a setup? Are you aware of any multi light mounts?
 

Cerberusfish

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 7, 2019
Messages
239
Reaction score
109
Wow, just when I thought I’d settled on AI hydras..... this seals the deal, I’m gonna be a nooper

48x18x24 90 gallon, what would you recommend for a setup? Are you aware of any multi light mounts?
You could get away with 2. That's what I had on my 48x18x21 75 until I recently added a third. I would go for either 2 or 4 though but that's just preference. The noopsyche t5 hybrid fixture has capacity to mount several of the LEDs, otherwise I'm sure there's DIY rail kits you could throw together to get what you need.
 

mermaid_life

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
326
Reaction score
235
Location
San Diego
This is what I ended up doing after trying several other configurations. I wanted to keep a mixed reef including SPS and 2 wasn't enough for my 48"

 

spyder813

Ruben's Reef
View Badges
Joined
Jun 8, 2017
Messages
6,068
Reaction score
42,162
Location
Tampa
I make my own mounting kit and works great.
D8C36F98-4526-4A1F-99C0-5F344F553909.jpeg
 

Bj’s Reef

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
Messages
792
Reaction score
867
Location
South Carolina
You won’t regret getting these lights. I have used them for over a year with out any problems. Some people complain about the controller. I think it’s because most people are familiar with a touch screen.However once you set the lights up. You will probably not mess with the lights much. At least that has been my experience.
 

Do you take notice when your coral starts stretching or shrinking?

  • YES and usually there is a probem

    Votes: 101 66.4%
  • YES but I never have a problem

    Votes: 33 21.7%
  • NO

    Votes: 7 4.6%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 11 7.2%
Subscribe to ReefStache so you don't miss out!
Top