Overflow Box Sump 75g setup

Jallen42

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I am wanting to look at setting up an overflow box for a sump on the 75g tank I have. It can not be drilled or I would rather do that.

I am likely going to get a PF800 unless I am swayed otherwise. I know that I have read that people recommend taking off the pre filter and not putting a valve to restrict flow on the overflow (just a straight shot from overflow to sump). They also recommend building a stockman sand pipe for in the place of the pre filter.

I have read that for a constant siphon and trying to prevent flooding I would need a similar gph going back in the tank as it is being taken out. Does anyone recommend good pumps to pair with the PF800 for a 75g?

I guess I am asking for what products I should look into and how to best prevent my floors from being ruined :).

Im not experienced in reef tanks or sumps, but want to try one.

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I am wanting to look at setting up an overflow box for a sump on the 75g tank I have. It can not be drilled or I would rather do that.

I am likely going to get a PF800 unless I am swayed otherwise. I know that I have read that people recommend taking off the pre filter and not putting a valve to restrict flow on the overflow (just a straight shot from overflow to sump). They also recommend building a stockman sand pipe for in the place of the pre filter.

I have read that for a constant siphon and trying to prevent flooding I would need a similar gph going back in the tank as it is being taken out. Does anyone recommend good pumps to pair with the PF800 for a 75g?

I guess I am asking for what products I should look into and how to best prevent my floors from being ruined :).

Im not experienced in reef tanks or sumps, but want to try one.