Pale SPS with higher nutrients - at a loss

Sebae

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all.

I had chronically low phosphate for some time resulting in RTN but since dosing phosphate I've had little to no issues with RTN. I've been dosing phosphate every few days and nitrate less often but still doing it to keep the levels up. I cannot seem to figure out why I still have very slow growth and some paling of SPS. I use aquaforest balling components in a dosing pump and have not issue keeping alk, Ca, and Mg stable.

Currently my levels are:
Ca 440
Mg 1350
Alk 11
NO3 ~25
Phosphate 0.07

I've thought about overlighting, perhaps bleaching the corals, as this is my first time using LEDs (SB reef light) However, the SPS are generally in 200-250 PAR with the highest PAR coral (red planet; also the most pale currently) in about 350 PAR. This certainly doesn't seem that high to me.

Coralline algae growth is next to non-existent. I have very little algae growth in general. A light green fuzz on some rocks and some brown dusting on the glass every day.

I am not running much filtration equipment. Just a sump and skimmer.

I've sent of an ATI ICP-OES water test and am waiting to hear back.

I'd really appreciate any ideas. Its starting to drive me crazy. In the past SPS was plug and play. I just can't figure things out this time.

rtparty

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hello all.

I had chronically low phosphate for some time resulting in RTN but since dosing phosphate I've had little to no issues with RTN. I've been dosing phosphate every few days and nitrate less often but still doing it to keep the levels up. I cannot seem to figure out why I still have very slow growth and some paling of SPS. I use aquaforest balling components in a dosing pump and have not issue keeping alk, Ca, and Mg stable.

Currently my levels are:
Ca 440
Mg 1350
Alk 11
NO3 ~25
Phosphate 0.07