Plumbing A Sump.

Hugh Mann

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is something I have never done before, and will have to do for my long, long delayed build. The tank has two corner overflows, each with one drilled hole.

For a couple of reasons, I have decided on the durso style. I have room for 2" diameter pipes, which as I understand it can help reduce noise.

I can draw about as well as a kindergartener with no hands, otherwise I'd post a diagram. But as I understand it, it's pretty straight forward, more or less. My current plan, unless someone more versed in the subject says, "No moron, that's stupid, do it this way that is way better!" 2" pvc lines under the stand, down into filter socks. The return line just going up the back of the tank and over the top, ending just below the surface with some sort of nozzle to direct the flow across the top of the water to maximize the rippling effect.

Some things I don't know.
What about check valves? Or I've heard lots of talk about gate valves? What for, and where should they go in the line? How should the lines be supported, or does it matter if they're left just suspended in the air.

What about materials, is pvc the best option? Schedule 40 or 80? Wall thickness? What sort of pvc glue to use? Any or is there a specific reef safe glue to use?

What about return pumps? Submersible vs external? I have a line on a pretty much brand new little giant for cheap, but it's not submersible, and I see a lot of people use submersible pumps. Any particular reason why?

Is there anything I am missing?

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For starters, check valves can fail. You want the sump to hold all the extra water when the return pump is off.
Pump. If its external you will need to drill the sump and put in a bulkhead
Sch 40 pipe is fine
Regular PVC pipe cement is fine.
I would try to support the pipe by clamping it to the stand some how

Snoopy 67