Poor SPS Colouration - Best practice

domgreenslade

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey there

Long time reader, almost first time poster. I've been keeping marines for about 6 years now, and one thing i've always struggled with is SPS colours. My latest tank, a TMC signature 600 has been up and running for 2 years, and is mainly SPS based. I should say, my other corals are mainly LPS, and I have a small bioload of 2 fish, a clown and a damsel.

My SPS are pretty much brown. Or at least, the reds are not red, and the greens are not green.

Some info about the tank:
Its around 110 litres after displacement.
I am running a radion over the top of it. I have recently changed my lighting schedule to run the SPS+ schedule, as previously i was running a custom one i made. Since this, the green montipora at the top of my tank has seemingly gone a little pale. Its currently on an acclimation timer for 4 weeks.
I am running an MP10 on reef crest mode of about 70% power.
I run rowaphos in a reactor, along with a bag of carbon, skim quite wet, and have a refugium with cheato in my sump.
About a year a go, i was running Triton, but came off of it because all of my LPS withered away, and all my cheato died. I am now using balling lite.
KH is at 8.6dKH, calcium at 420ppm and magnesium 1460ppm.
Phosphate, using a phosphorous hanna checker, came out at 0.009ppm (3ppb phosphorous).
Nitrate came out at 0.2ppm using salifert test.
I water change 12litres every 7-14 days.

I used to feed my tank about once a week on pellets. Because of this, i've been reading that i ought to either dose nitrates, or slowly increase feeding, defrosting frozen food, and then turkey basting my lps and feeding fish. I also have reef roids i've been starting to use also.

I also have bryopsis, which i have literally just started treatment of fluconazole for. Because of this, i believe that my nitrate and phosphate readings maybe incorrect.