Problem matching overflow speed and return speed

abagail

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So Im new to owning a sump and when i first set it up the flow was PERFECT then after a month it randomly decided to stop matching eachother (a fish got in the overflow and it started acting funny and now i cant get it corrected). Im not too fond of sumps to be honest but the water is returning to the aquarium faster than its leaving it. Anyone know how I can fix this?

edit: I got the tank off a guy who had it running for 6-7 years but i literally know nothing about the tank, sump, and what not so im just really lost

Last edited:

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yep, need to know what type of overflow. What you should have is some type of passive overflow to supply tank water to your sump and a return pump in your sump that does not exceed the rating of your overflow. As an example, I have a 1500 gph overflow and run by return pump at about 1100 gph. The overflow can easily handle returning this water to the sump.

OP
OP
abagail

abagail

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
^ this. also, do you have a gate valve/ball valve on both your drain and return?
I dont think theres any? but i also got the tank setup off of a guy who had it running for 6 years so lets just say im confused lol

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    259.5 KB · Views: 71
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    125.1 KB · Views: 74

redfishbluefish

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Appears that you have a conventional back wall overflow with a durso (maybe 1") overflow going down to the sump. The return appears to be a MAG pump....maybe a MAG 7 or MAG 9.5. Sump is an Oceanic (maybe a model 2), and for some reason the water level looks very low. Wondering if you're missing a baffle??? Many protein skimmers need somewhere around 6-8 inches of water to work.