Protecting carpet from spillage and mitigating landlord concerns with 42 gallon reef tank

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
So I ordered a Red Sea Reefer 200, which is 41 gallon tank but like 50 gallons total system volume. I am new at this so I ordered the Max model figuring the more mechanical help the better. But I live in an upstairs apartment that has carpeting. I want to mitigate any concerns the manager will have when she first sees the tank. She told me not to get a big one, so I figure 41 gallon is not too large. If they huff and puff I will throw money at the problem in terms of giving them a security deposit. I can find nothing on the internet that suggests a tank my size will pose any problems. But one concern they may have is water spillage. Does anyone know of any good kind of mat or something I might place underneath or in front of the reef tank to protect against spillage? Thank you so much!
I think the best solution is to avoid the spillage. The problem with a plastic covering over carpet - is that if you have a large spill, the water will seep under the carpet anyway. I assume you bought a redsea stand - which means circulation beneath the stand will not be great. I would also make sure that your rental policy covers damage from a tank. For example - let's say the tank broke and leaked the whole 42 gallons which would likely damage the floor underneath. On a brighter note, I have a carpet in front of my tank and it has not been an issue (it is an area rug) and have not had an issue.

OP
OP
B

Ballyhoo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0