Protecting carpet from spillage and mitigating landlord concerns with 42 gallon reef tank

Ballyhoo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I ordered a Red Sea Reefer 200, which is 41 gallon tank but like 50 gallons total system volume. I am new at this so I ordered the Max model figuring the more mechanical help the better. But I live in an upstairs apartment that has carpeting. I want to mitigate any concerns the manager will have when she first sees the tank. She told me not to get a big one, so I figure 41 gallon is not too large. If they huff and puff I will throw money at the problem in terms of giving them a security deposit. I can find nothing on the internet that suggests a tank my size will pose any problems. But one concern they may have is water spillage. Does anyone know of any good kind of mat or something I might place underneath or in front of the reef tank to protect against spillage? Thank you so much!

OP
OP
B

Ballyhoo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
thanks, actually now that I am thinking about this, maybe I will just get a nice floor or throw rug to put i front of the tank.

Seriously, should there be any cause or reason for a responsible owner to still cause some kind of damage with a reef tank in the 50 gallon range? IE, if you own an apartment, you are renting to a responsible tenant, what would your concern be?

moretor1

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
thanks, actually now that I am thinking about this, maybe I will just get a nice floor or throw rug to put i front of the tank.

Seriously, should there be any cause or reason for a responsible owner to still cause some kind of damage with a reef tank in the 50 gallon range? IE, if you own an apartment, you are renting to a responsible tenant, what would your concern be?
I just rotate towels and throw them on the floor when I'm working in my tank. Doesnt need anything fancy.