Pulsing Xenia shriveled, deflated, and not pulsing

Thanos

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This was the first coral I added to my 65 gallon softy/LPS reef tank, and for the first year or so it seemed to do well and quickly took over the island I put it on. I'm a college student so I'm out of town for most of the year while my parents take care of the tank, and when I got back from college last month I noticed the Xenia appeared to be in really bad condition. The "petals" are shriveled and almost twisted when viewed up close, the Xenia no longer pulses, and when the 2 Nero 3's on each side of the tank are turned off, the thing basically deflates and flops over the rockwork, still not pulsing (as seen in the attached pictures). Parameter checks showed nothing out of the ordinary; considering that it's Xenia I assumed low nitrates but tests with an API kit showed it to be around 5 ppm, and the ongoing Cyano issue on the sandbed also makes me think it's not a lack of nutrients.

All of my other corals are doing really well, which further confuses me. My Zoas, Hammer, GSP, and Leptastrea all seem to be really healthy and have grown rapidly and the only other coral in the tank that hasn't been growing a ton is the toadstool leather above the Xenia, but it doesn't look like it's dying by any means. Additionally, there's a non-pulsing Xenia variety on the other end of the tank and it looks really healthy, so I'm really stumped as to what's going on.

IMG_20230708_174810480.jpg IMG_20230708_174818493.jpg

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0