QC for test kits?

SallyWho

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Does anyone know if there are commercially available quality controls for test kits? I know the Hanna checkers have calibrators, but I don't think I've heard of any manufacturer having QC. I work in a hospital laboratory, and not being able to do QC to absolutely ensure that the test kits are working correctly drives me bananas! :p I can probably use RODI as a negative control for several of the analytes, but that's assuming the RODI water doesn't have any nitrates, nitrites, phos, ammonia, etc. Positive controls though? Not a clue!

BanjoBandito

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Depending on the test manufacturer, I would directly contact them and ask for calibration advice/samples. PH is used by buffers, refractometers use pure water, the bare bones answer is test something you know to be fact, then go off it.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I assume that by positive control you just mean a standard.

yes, there are commercial standard for many things.

What kit do you want to evaluate? Some are easier than others. Some are sold by hobby companies that you have to decide how much you trust them.

Malcontent

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

I've had ammonia standards get contaminated by ammonia in the air so if I was buying again I'd consider those single use sealed ampules.

You probably also need a micropipette to dilute the standards to the desired range.

fryman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The trident comes with a standard with each set of reagents. They are using the best practice I've seen in tbe hobby which is surprising. They are even better in this regard than hanna. But the trident is crazy expensive.

Hanna sells a cal standard for the alk checker but it's pretty close to useless.