Question about cycle

Blown

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Guys,

I am new to reefing and have always wanted to get into the hobby. I got myself a waterbox 130.4 which is currently on day 48 doing a fishless cycle with dr tims one and only and dr tims ammonia. The tank has approx 75lbs of marco reef saver dry rock, 2x maxspect nanotech bio blocks in sump and 45lb of fiji pink dry sand. I am running a slightly lower salinity at around 1.020 as per dr tim recommendation and ph has been stable at 8.1.

Day 1 I dosed ammonia to 2ppm which took a week to reach 0, nitrites were unmeasurable during that time and nitrate was 10ppm after a week. Week2 I redosed ammonia to 2ppm which again took a week to go to 0, with nitrites measuring 0.05ppm and nitrate around 25ppm at the end of the week. Over the next few days nitrites rose to offscale on the test kit which maxes out at 1ppm ( I am using red sea test kits). It has now been over a month with the nitrites well over 1ppm and nitrates are still at around 25ppm. With the nitrates not going up after a couple weeks I was feeling like the process was stalled and added the recommended dose of fritzyme 9 to try help it along. That was a few weeks ago and still nothing seems to be changing.

I know this is a game of patience and I was expecting a slower cycle starting with dry rock/sand but I was also expecting that I would have been able to track some sort of progress with the nitrite by now and be seeing elevated levels of nitrate. I have tested fresh saltwater with the test kit and it reads 0 so I am fairly sure the test kit is ok. I have only just turned my skimmer on and fit filter socks about a week ago also if that makes any difference.

So for those of you in the know... does this seems right /normal?

Thanks

Dbichler

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0