Randy: is microbacter 7 a scam?

Miami Reef

Clam Fanatic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What is your opinion on microbacter 7? A lot of people keep recommending this product for Dino’s and cyano. Does this actually have any effect on those organisms?

Slightly off topic: when people say dose phytoplankton to outcompete with Dinos/cyano, do they mean live or dead phyto? Is there actually a difference?

If I’m not mistaken, I don’t think phyto directly feeds/outcompetes with dinos etc. I think it feeds copepods which feed on Dino’s? But then, if copepods can feed off Dino’s then there wouldn’t be a purpose of dosing phyto?

I have a lot of gaps in my knowledge about this subject.

Lavey29

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What is your opinion on microbacter 7? A lot of people keep recommending this product for Dino’s and cyano. Does this actually have any effect on those organisms?

Slightly off topic: when people say dose phytoplankton to outcompete with Dinos/cyano, do they mean live or dead phyto? Is there actually a difference?

If I’m not mistaken, I don’t think phyto directly feeds/outcompetes with dinos etc. I think it feeds copepods which feed on Dino’s? But then, if copepods can feed off Dino’s then there wouldn’t be a purpose of dosing phyto?

I dose phytoplankton daily. I cant say my situation is perfect but it's not that bad either. Still have some different types of algae here and there but primarily on the sandbed alone. I think pods live mainly in the rocks hiding from fish so that is where they would feed right? Snails, coaches etc... for the sandbed? I dose microbacter clean once a week.

OP
OP
Miami Reef

Miami Reef

Clam Fanatic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
(I actually read it on another forum)

Imagine turning on reds and yellows to temporarily encourage algae growth to outcompete dinos…..